Posted by: Moni | July 20, 2010

OBX or BUST!

The Outer Banks, North Carolina, are a string of islands basically lining the state on the east coast.  I realized while I was there that it was my first honest to goodness visit to the Atlantic – I’ve been to the Gulf, the Pacific in Hawaii, the South China Sea in the Philippines, the Indian Ocean in the Philippines, but never the Atlantic.  Not bad for a 30 year old in her native country, huh?

I have to say – we drove through a lot of history on the way over, and the nerdy history buff in me got really excited about that.  We drove through Roanoke Island (and was on Wikipedia looking up details), the Virgina Dare memorial bridge, and Kitty Hawk.  I really want to stop in at the Wright Brother’s Memorial (they have THE plane in it!!), but that will have to wait for the next trip.  I want a week there. 🙂

We got there on Friday night and immediately headed out to the beach!  We were out there visiting K’s friends from DC (and their two kids), and it was definitely a “lets hurry up and have fun!” kind of day.. and no objections here on that front!  We got out to the beach, kicked back, swam in the ocean, and made plans to go later on that evening to hunt for crabs.  After that, we went out to eat at The Sunset Grill and Raw Bar for some TASTY oysters and seafood.  I had a Tuna Steak grilled rare, and holy crap, was it good.  K got crab au grautin – and I have to say, that was the most (delicious) lump crab I’ve seen in a dish in a while.  Later on that evening, we went back out to the beach to hunt for crabs, and we got one.  He was dubbed “Crabby,” ran at us and the girls (which led to all of us girls squealing and running away), and got a good bite on K. It was cute.

The next day was more beach, more sand, more swimming!  We had planned on getting up early to look for shells, but we all slept in til 9.  Off we went on a bike ride down the island on their awesome trail on the side of Hwy 12, and we cruised up to take some pictures along the sea and go to a toy store.  We got lots of comments on the awesomeness of my bike. 😉  Later on, we got back, and I set my award winning chicken chili in the crock pot for dinner.. then off we went to Duck Deli for lunch!  I had to have some of that pulled pork with West Carolina sauce on it.  I needed a nap after that, whew.  We had planned on going to another beach that evening, but Mother Nature had another plan for us.  We got in just in time for a crazy thunderstorm, so we stayed in to play games for the rest of the evening.  K and I snuck out later on that evening to set off some fireworks at the beach and stargaze. We chased a few other crabs and he jumped in the ocean.  We went to bed waaaaayyy to late that night given the amount of energy we had to expend the next day. 🙂

The next day was just as awesome.  We all went up to Corolla to take the truck out on the beach, thew it in 4×4 mode, and drove out to find us a spot for the day.  We spent a lot of time out there until we got really hungry.  It was really cool – there were wild horses wandering up and down the beach, and we did lots of activities. There were numerous fish chases in the sea, swimming, sand castle building,kite flying soccer playing, and just a little bit of lounging.

It was definitely a good vacation, with a small percentage of relaxing – but I wouldn’t change a thing about it.  I can’t wait to go back!  I’ll add in some pictures here eventually.. just have not dloaded them from the camera.

There will be a few major changes coming up to this blog!  I have a couple of ideas, but the hardest part is of course, the format.  I’ll make it work when I get some time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

